Main Header Container

Board of Trustees

The University's Administration works with the Board of Trustees to shape policy and direction for the institution. The leadership and service provided by these distinguished and committed men and women of the Board of Trustees are greatly valued. Trustees who earn Emeritus status are recognized and honored for their past extraordinary service. 

Dr. Terry Esper, ’96, Board Chair
The Ohio State University
Columbus, Ohio

Dr. Maurice D. Gipson, Board Vice Chair
University of Missouri – Office of Institutional Equity
Columbia, Missouri

Dr. Patti Freemyer Martin, Board Secretary
Arkansas Children’s Hospital
Little Rock, Arkansas

Mr. Jim Kincannon, Board Treasurer
AHBI Consolidated, Inc.
North Little Rock, Arkansas

Dr. Dexter Booth, ’77
Little Rock, Arkansas

Mr. Robert Blue, ’68
Retired, Exxon Mobil
Little Rock, Arkansas

Mrs. Karyn Bradford Coleman, ’14
ASDC Midwest Regional Director
Democratic National Convention
Little Rock, Arkansas

Mr. Roderick L. Dunn, ’03
PSC National Alumni Association
Little Rock, Arkansas

Dr. Terrance D. Grant-Malone
St. John Missionary Baptist Church
Houston, Texas

Dr. Tionna Jenkins, ’01
Plate It Healthy & O’nita Lee Foods, LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas


Mrs. Eleanor Warren Lindsey
Business Owner, Lindsey Hospitality House
Little Rock, Arkansas

Mrs. Lisa A. Menzies-Earvin
Retired, Johnson Controls, Inc. National Energy
Atlanta, Georgia

Bishop Laura Merrill
Arkansas Conference – United Methodist
Little Rock, Arkansas

Mr. Jake Nabholz
Nabholz Construction
Conway, Arkansas

Reverend Mark Norman, ’94
First United Methodist Church Benton
Pine Bluff, Arkansas

Mr. Sam Roberts, Esq.
Walmart Corporation
Bentonville, Arkansas

Rev. Dr. Ulysses C. Washington
Arkansas Conference – United Methodist
Little Rock, Arkansas

Mr. Arnell Willis, ’77
Shorter College
Little Rock, Arkansas


Dr. Cynthia Bond Hopson
Interim President and CEO, Philander Smith University
Little Rock, Arkansas 

Dr. Lloyd Sain Jr. 
Faculty Representative, Philander Smith University
Little Rock, Arkansas

Ms. Savana Mars
Student Representative, Philander Smith  University
Little Rock, Arkansas

Trustees Emerti

Dr. Charles W. Donaldson, '69
Rev. Larry W. Ross, '69
Ms. Lottie Shackelford, '79
Mr. Charles O. Stewart
Mr. Sherman Tate, '70