

PHILANDER SMITH COLLEGE 900 W. Daisy Bates Drive Little Rock, AR 72202 501 375-9845

UPDATED 06/01/2023

2022-2023 FACT SHEET

President: Dr. Roderick L. Smothers

Founded: In 1877 as Walden Seminary by the Little Rock Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church. In 1882, the name was changed to Philander Smith College and it was chartered as a four-year college on March 3, 1883.

Fall 2021 Enrollment Statistics: Headcount: 769 Females: 59% Males: 41%

Full Time: **675** Part Time: **94**

Student Ethnicity:

Non Resident Alien	7%	Hispanic / Latino	1.4%
American Indian / Alaska Native	0%	Asian	.1%
Black / African American	85%	Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander	1.1%
White	1%	Two or More Races	1.1%
Unknown	2%		

Geographic Origin of Student Body: 54.7% from Arkansas 38.5% U.S. non Arkansas 56.8% International

Freshman

Class Headcount: 237 Female 51% Male 49%

Geographic Origin: 58 % from Arkansas 33% from other states 9% International

Retention: (Percent of the 90 first-time full-time freshman from 2021 who returned in 2022) 72%

Graduation Rates (2015 Freshman Cohort) 4 year: 16% 6 year: 30%

Academic Programs: 17 Majors in 6 Academic Divisions: General Education, Business and Economics, Education, Humanities, Natural and Physical Sciences, and Social Sciences.

Campus based and Online offering of the Major "Criminal Justice" in the Social Sciences Division

Total Employees:

Full Time Faculty 36 Full Time Staff 94

Part Time Faculty 89 Part Time Staff 3 Student to Faculty Ratio 11:1

Tuition and Fees: \$13,014 Room and Board: \$8,250

Campus: 25 acres located just south of downtown Little Rock ---Arkansas's State Capitol

Athletics: Philander Smith College participates in the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA), fielding teams in men's and women's basketball, women's volleyball, men's and women's track and field and men's and women's cross country while playing in the Gulf Coast Athletic Conference. The mascot is the Panther, and the school colors are green and gold.

Accredited by: The Higher Learning Commission, The Accreditation Council for Business Schools and Programs, The Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation, and The Council on Social Work Education

Approved by: The Arkansas Department of Education and the University Senate of the United Methodist Church.