Philander Smith College Athletics to debut 'Hall of Fame'

Four standout former student-athletes will be honored at induction banquet

LOGOs_©2016PhilanderSmith_final_FC Full logo.jpg

Little Rock, Ark. (October 19, 2017) --- Four former student-athletes will be inducted as members of the inaugural class of the Philander Smith College Athletic Hall of Fame. The honorees include Hubert “Geese” Ausbie, legendary men’s basketball star; Elijah Pitts (posthumously), champion football player; Julia Bullock-Lewis, women’s track and field stand-out; and Missouri Aldredge, a pioneer in women’s basketball.

“We are elated to begin acknowledging extraordinary former student-athletes with induction into the Philander Smith College Athletic Hall of Fame,” said Philander Smith College President Dr. Roderick L. Smothers, Sr. “Our first group of honorees includes outstanding men and women who have represented our College, state and country in careers that have helped to shape modern sports. As we continue to mark Philander Smith’s 140th Anniversary, it is fitting that we not only celebrate the athletic achievements of our honorees, but also their indelible contributions to our institution.”

To kickoff the Philander Smith Homecoming weekend, the honorees will be inducted during an induction banquet that will take place at 6 p.m. Friday, Nov. 3 in the Nugent Conference Center on the campus of Philander Smith. Inductees will also be recognized in the Crawford J. Mims Gymnasium immediately following the Panther Women’s basketball game that has a 2 p.m. tipoff.

Tables and individual tickets ($25 per person) to the banquet may be purchased online at or in person at the PSC Office of Institutional Advancement. Sponsorships are also available. For more information, contact Nathan Cochran at or call (501) 370-5317.