philander startOzell Scholarship
This is a default image banner.

Campus Buildings

The Philander Smith College campus is composed of approximately 25 acres in the heart of Little Rock.

Download Campus Map

The buildings on campus include:

Donald W. Reynolds Library & Technology Center: In 2000, Philander Smith College received a $7.8 million grant from the Donald W. Reynolds Foundation to build, furnish and equip a new two-story, 49,404 square feet, state-of-the-art, library and technology center. The multi-million dollar project enables Philander to bring together the resources to expand many of its existing programs and services, including the Faculty Development Center, the Archival Center and the Teacher Education Development/Children's Collection.The library was formally dedicated March 2003.

The Harry R. Kendall Science and Health Mission Center: The Center provides  laboratory and lecture space for the Natural and Physical Science Division while also providing a link to the community through the outreach programs of the Mission Center. The Dirdak Atrium and the Nugent Conference Center are two of the most frequently used common spaces in this building. The Office of the President is also located inside the Kendall Center.

Residential Life Center: This residential living facility opened in the Fall 2003. The building is three floors and houses about 260 students. Each room consists of a private bath and two sleep/study areas. There is also a common study room, lounge area, TV room and exercise room. Each floor has washers and dryers for student use.

Residential Suites: Opening in the fall of 2011, this additional residential facility houses 55 full-time students. The suites offer single occupancy rooms featuring private card access entry, laundry facilities, Internet, cable, common and lounge areas and private social spaces. The suites are reserved for juniors and seniors. 

The Barracks-Honors Hall: Dedicated Sept. 4, 2009, this former Barracks building was constructed in 1948 and purchased by Philander Smith College in the early 1950s from Camp Robinson Military Base. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the two-story Craftsman building was renovated into a 3,400-square foot residential living and learning space that houses nineteen PSC honor students. The Barracks-Honors Hall is access-controlled and features nine double-occupancy rooms, a single room, a laundry room on both floors, a kitchenette, study lab and TV/lounge area.

The James Monroe Cox Administration Building: This three-story building is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and houses the offices of the Business Manager, the Offices of Admissions & Recruitment, the Social Justice Initiative, the Registrar, Financial Aid, Institutional Research, the Collegiate Choir, classrooms, and faculty offices.

The Kresge-Mabee Science Building: A two-story brick structure providing faculty offices, classrooms, lecture hall, laboratories, and other facilities for biology, chemistry, mathematics, computer science and physics.

Sherman E. Tate Recreation Center: A one-story brick structure on the National Register of Historic Places. Today, it's being used as a temporary dining hall for students, staff, faculty and guests.

Campus Security Office: A brick structure protecting the main entrance to the college, erected in 1993 along with a brick column and wrought iron security fence erected around the perimeter of the campus.

Myer L. Titus Academic Center: Dedicated May 12, 1996, is a 35,000 square-foot facility contains fourteen classrooms and houses three academic divisions of the College (Education, Humanities, and Social Sciences), Social Work Program (CSWE accredited), Academic Computing Center, one of three Computer Aided Instruction Lab, and the College Bookstore. It also features a 100+seat sub-dividable auditorium.

Kelly Hall: A two-story brick Colonial structure which has served as the home of the past Presidents of the College. It currently houses the Office of Institutional Advancement (Development, Public Relations, Alumni Affairs, UNCF).

M.L. Harris Auditorium and Fine Arts Center: Contains a Fine Arts Auditorium with a seating capacity of approximately 650. The building also houses the offices of Student Support Services/TRiO, Student Affairs, Academic Success Center, Religious Life, Career Services and Security.

Arkansas Memorial to Dr. M.L. King: Created by Dr. Carey Wynn II and donated to the College in 1991, the brick memorial houses a bronze bust of Dr. King and an eternal flame lit yearly during the annual PSC King Holiday Celebration activities.

Maintenance Building: A one-story brick structure with storage and workshop facilities and office space for maintenance personnel. Erected 1977.

Multi-Purpose Complex: This 40,000 square-foot, dedicated January 30, 1995, comprises the Dr. Crawford J. Mims Gymnasium, the Department of Physical Education Wing (including a jogging track, a regulation racquetball court, and a 100-seat auditorium), and the Ottenheimer Business Center, which houses the Division of Business and Economics and includes the Philander Smith Management Institute.

Wesley Chapel UMC: A facility used extensively by the College for religious activities, but owned and operated by The United Methodist Church, the College's sponsor.

Wesley Chapel Parsonage: This home was the former home of the Pastor of Wesley Chapel and for other Church-related activities.